Tasks in Atlas Play can have a number of statuses. These depend on a variety of things, including how the task is progressing, who it's assigned to and what roles it might be assigned to.

In Run and Home, you’ll be able to see each of the tasks assigned to you personally or your user role. The status of the task will be displayed at the top of the task card, next to the due date.

NB: You can also see status details and actions from within a particular task in Run, as well as on the task card

Reserved Tasks

Tasks assigned to you will display as RESERVED. If a task is assigned to one of your user roles will show up as READY. This means the task is ready and waiting to be claimed by yourself or someone who shares the correct user role.

Starting a task

Any task with a status of either ready or reserved can be started by you. You can do this by clicking the Start button.

Once a task has been started, the status will automatically become In Progress. If you return to the Task Card list in Run or Home from the started task, you will see a Continue button, rather than Start.

Claiming a task

If the status of a Task is Ready (is assigned to a role or roles) and you don't want to start the task immediately, but do intend to be the user to run the task, you can claim the task so it's no longer available to other users in the same role or roles.

Suspending a task

You can suspend a task that is either Ready, Reserved, or In Progress. This is effectively a 'pause' button and allows you to put the task on hold. You are able to resume a suspended task by finding it again, either in Run or Home, and clicking on the Resume button.

Aborting or stopping a task

Abort: This will abort an unwanted task and any associated workflow. This is useful for clearing up accidentally started tasks etc. Aborting a task will result in the status being set to Exited while the task is still visible.

NB: This will exit the task, discarding any activity on the task. If the aborted task is part of subprocess, both the subprocess workflow and the parent workflow will be aborted.

Stop: This allows you to stop a task that is In Progress, allowing the task to be either started again by the same user, or opening it to be assigned to a new user.

If you need to know more about claiming and releasing role assigned tasks or Reassigning process owners then you can give the linked articles a read.

Reason Options

When changing the status of a task manually, you'll be given a popup where you can select a reason option for certain actions. This is a way of noting why you've chosen to Suspend, Resume, Stop, Release, or Abort a Task.

Releasing a task

This one is a bit more complicated and we've included some more in depth information over at our article on Claiming and Releasing Tasks.

Completing a task

Once you’ve completed all of the required entries within a task, you can hit the inviting green button marked complete.

With that done, you can begin monitoring, or head back to Run or Home to begin your next task!

Did this answer your question?